Encounter with a porcupine

I surprised a porcupine on the ground up in the spruce grove this morning. It was walking along making little grunting noises when I interrrupted. Uncharacteristically, after showing me its backside, it then turned to face me and approached to with two feet of me, clicking its teeth. As it waddled away, it resumed grunting — this is faintly audible in the video.

–Dave

About Dave Bonta

I'm the author of several books of poetry, including Ice Mountain: An Elegy, Breakdown: Banjo Poems, and Odes to Tools, but my real work is at my long-running literary blog Via Negativa, where I'm currently creating erasure poems from every entry of the Diary of Samuel Pepys. I'm also the editor and publisher of Moving Poems, a blog showcasing the best poetry videos on the web.

Posted on July 1, 2007, in porcupines, Videos. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So it was its teeth, that noise. Being in possession of a fearsome set of gnashers myself I must remember that as a defense strategy.

  2. Yeah. That’s what I was doing in the infamous photo on my website: chattering back at a porcupine. The wildlife rehabilitator whose baby porcupine is featured in a series of adorable YouTube videos
    says that teeth chattering has more meanings than just threat, though:

Leave a Reply

