Redpolls at the feeder

common redpoll 1A couple of the redpolls that have been visiting the mountain off and on since December 21 started showing up at the bird feeders yesterday. This male was particularly aggressive this morning, driving all other birds from both sides of the big feeder before settling in to nosh on sunflower seeds. But by early afternoon, he or another male had learned to share the larger of the round feeders, and to forage on the ground with the other birds as well.

This has also so far been a good winter for house finches and goldfinches, both of which have been coming to the feeder in great numbers. We haven’t seen any purple finches since December.

common redpoll 2

About Dave Bonta

I'm the author of several books of poetry, including Ice Mountain: An Elegy, Breakdown: Banjo Poems, and Odes to Tools, but my real work is at my long-running literary blog Via Negativa, where I'm currently creating erasure poems from every entry of the Diary of Samuel Pepys. I'm also the editor and publisher of Moving Poems, a blog showcasing the best poetry videos on the web.

Posted on January 23, 2008, in birds, common redpolls, finches. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I do love your pictures! I won a blogging award and I am passing it on to you. Learn more about it with this link: http://queenbjan.wordpress.com/2008/01/26/first-blog-award/

  2. Hi, queenbjan. I’m very flattered. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Dave,

    Thanks for visiting my blog and for your constructive comments. Also thanks for linking to me. I will link to you as well.

    I am also glad you commented so I could find your website. I like what I see on it and will return often.

Leave a Reply

