Sled run


Video link.

The record cold (-5F on Saturday morning*) has keep the snow in excellent condition for sledding. I propped a camcorder on my knee for a fast tour of the upper half of the hollow; as I say at the end of the video, I wasn’t willing to go all the way down to the bottom that way. It gets too steep and fast, and I’m afraid for my expensive new camcorder.
__________
*A couple of friends report temperatures of -16 or -17F at the base of the mountain.

About Dave Bonta

I'm the author of several books of poetry, including Ice Mountain: An Elegy, Breakdown: Banjo Poems, and Odes to Tools, but my real work is at my long-running literary blog Via Negativa, where I'm currently creating erasure poems from every entry of the Diary of Samuel Pepys. I'm also the editor and publisher of Moving Poems, a blog showcasing the best poetry videos on the web.

Posted on January 18, 2009, in sledding, Videos, weather, winter. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. ‘Morning, Dave and all. Thanks for the sled ride; I love the clacking of the runners on the snow.

    I’m tagging you or Marcia (or whoever would like to respond) with a most interesting nature book meme. Looking forward to Plummer’s Hollow take on it.

  2. Thanks for the tag, Sally. I see your own response is here. I generally ignore blog memes, but this one’s interesting. If I do respond, it’ll be at Via Negativa, and I’ll be sure to let you know.

  3. That’s great, Dave. Yeah, I thought this one was interesting– or at least a little more relevant than some! Glad to hear you’re considering it, and nice to be checking in with you again…

  1. Pingback: Another sled ride down the hollow « Plummer’s Hollow, Pennsylvania

Leave a Reply

