The guest house black snake, coming and going

Here’s a video that combines some footage I shot in July with some from last Sunday. Our new caretaker Troy Scott can be heard in both parts, joined by his son Andy in the second part. It was Troy who spotted the snake each time, though I’ve seen it in previous years; it seems to be regular summer visitor. When Dad and I replaced the guest house bathroom 10 years ago, we found lots of snakes: milk snakes, a few garter snakes, and one big black snake in the ceiling — possibly this very individual.

About Dave Bonta

I'm the author of several books of poetry, including Ice Mountain: An Elegy, Breakdown: Banjo Poems, and Odes to Tools, but my real work is at my long-running literary blog Via Negativa, where I'm currently creating erasure poems from every entry of the Diary of Samuel Pepys. I'm also the editor and publisher of Moving Poems, a blog showcasing the best poetry videos on the web.

Posted on September 15, 2009, in black snake, Videos. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

